Piano Forum

Topic: Zoom Zoom  (Read 13251 times)

Offline shh its kaya

• PS Silver Member
Zoom Zoom
on: June 15, 2004, 08:56:32 AM
I'm not that brilliant at the piano... but what I do have is determination and passion to become brilliant at the piano.  Right now I'm working on Chopin's Nocturne No. 15, Op. 55 No. 1, and Beethoven's Sonata "Pathetique" Second movement.  I've had lessons for about hmm... I think 4 or 5 years, and for about the next 5 or 6 years, I've been self taught (though I was never serious about teaching myself until 2 years ago, thanks to inspiration).  I'm 17 too, incase that makes a difference.  However, I can't help but also try and learn the first and third movements to Sonata "Pathetique," but I realized how fast certain parts are played.  The difficulty in playing the quick parts so quickly in this Sonata isn't as bad as say the third movement in the "Moonlight" sonata (which to me I still can't even come close), but they are still frustratingly quick.  I have difficulty keeping up with the pace.  I practice the parts slowly, making sure I have them down, then I try to speed them up gradually, but I seem to hit a limit.  How long does it take to reach the right Zoom when playing these pieces? and is there another better way to practice?

-Kaya
~International Freak~

Shagdac

Re: Zoom Zoom
Reply #1 on: June 15, 2004, 11:51:07 AM
Kaya,

I've been searching the posts for some time and I still can't find it, however I had the same problem as far as getting a piece up to speed and playing it correctly when going fast,...but I can't find it. I have it printed out at home. Bernhard had replied with some excellent advice which for me, worked great.