Piano Forum

International Piano Day 2024
Piano Day is an annual worldwide event that takes place on the 88th day of the year, which in 2024 is March 28. Established in 2015, it is now well known across the globe. Every year it provokes special concerts, onstage and online, as well as radio shows, podcasts, and playlists. Read more >>

Topic: What method to use for very young students  (Read 12087 times)

Offline kcowley

• PS Silver Member
What method to use for very young students
on: February 01, 2004, 01:18:54 AM
I am a brand new teacher and am starting with my two neices ages almost 4 and almost 5.  Does anyone have any suggestions on which methods to use for such little students?  Bastien Primer?  Alfred Prep Course?  Alfred Little Mozart?  Which is the best?  And do they need every single book offered in each series?  Please help!

Offline bernhard

• PS Silver Member
Re: What method to use for very young students
Reply #1 on: February 01, 2004, 02:05:53 AM
It depends on the children. I have a couple of 4 year olds and a  3 year old (!). None is a prodigy. None of them in my opinion are ready for formal lessons. They have a lot to handle: co-ordination, concentration, attention span. Lessons consist of teaching simple (yet impressive) tunes by rote. Lots of ear training – no instruction in reading as yet. This must come – but much later. Games are more important than methods in this age group (and I don’t use methods anyway).

The 3 year old is allowed to do whatever she wants at the piano. She is basically exploiting sounds. Sometimes I sit with her and make an accompanyiment to her improvisations aiming at establishing some form of pulse to see if she will follow.