Piano Forum

Lucas Debargue - A Matter of Life or Death
Pianist Lucas Debargue recently recorded the complete piano works of Gabriel Fauré on the Opus 102, a very special grand piano by Stephen Paulello. Eric Schoones from the German/Dutch magazine PIANIST had a conversation with him. Read more >>

Topic: Choosing a new piece to learn  (Read 2612 times)

Offline thepianolad

• PS Silver Member
Choosing a new piece to learn
on: March 01, 2021, 10:55:57 AM
Hey I'm interested in learning a new piece and I find that choosing a piece and sticking to it is harder than learning it, so I'm wondering if you might help me choose. I'd say I'm a late intermediate/early advanced pianist. My repertoire already consists of:
- Chopin etudes op 10 no 3 and 12
- Chopin Fantasie Impromptu
- Debussy Clair de lune
- Mozart Rondo Alla Turca
- Some Chopin Nocturnes
(I know, these are very mainstream. )
I am quite an ambitious person so here are the pieces I would like to challenge myself with:
- A Chopin Ballade (preferably no 1, 2, or 4)
- Rachmaninoff Concerto no 2 (movement 1+2)
- Rachmaninoff Prelude in G minor or C sharp minor
- Chopin Etude op 25 no 10, 12
- Liszt Les Jeux d'eaux à la Villa d'Este
- Ravel Jeux D'eau
Again, I do have some difficult aspirations that are these pieces to add to my repertoire and I am particularly fond of the ballades and concerto especially, I would love to hear other suggestions, Thanks.  :)

Offline j_tour

• PS Silver Member
Re: Choosing a new piece to learn
Reply #1 on: March 01, 2021, 12:28:50 PM
Well, the Mozart sonata whence the infamous Rondo alla Turca: I'd do the whole sonata.  You can play that.  I wouldn't just do the one movement:  no offense intended, but to me, it's like a child's piece, to just do that movement.  But it's an interesting sonata, taken as a whole.